On the day after the inauguration, 3 thousand 857 people boarded the metro rail on the first day’s journey with ordinary passengers. Today Thursday from 8 am to 12 pm these passengers get a chance to board the metro rail. Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL) informed.

DMTCL also informed that on the first day, 5 trains of Metrorail ran non-stop from Agargaon to Uttara station a total of 25 times in 4 hours.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the Metrorail on Wednesday. And today the doors of Metrorail open for public. The disappointment of not being able to ride after standing in a long queue, the excitement of riding the metro after getting a ticket was a mixture of the first day of the metro rail journey.

There are two types of MRT passes for metro travel. One is permanent, the other is a journey. A single journey pass must be left at the end of the journey. The permanent pass remains with the passenger.

Permanent pass is given from 12 noon till 10 pm today. But the card will be issued at a new time for tomorrow Friday.

Ministry of Road Transport and Bridges said in a press release that from December 30, permanent passes will be issued from the counters of Uttara Uttara and Agargaon stations from 3:00 pm to 9:00 pm for metro rail travel.

Of the 500 taka required to get a permanent pass, 200 taka is security, 300 taka is usable. This means, the card holder can travel on metro rail by paying 300 taka. If the card is returned, the security deposit will be refunded. If you lose, you have to buy a new card with money. If there is money in the old card, it will be added to the new card.

Registration is required before purchase of permanent card. For this you will need your name, parents name, phone number, e-mail and National Identity Card (NID). Passport number will do. These data should match with NID database.